Skip to main content

Only Oswego

Oswego Lego League Teams Headed to Championship

Jan 14, 2016 08:19PM ● By Steven Jack

Team Techno Storm

For the past three years, Churchill Elementary School has had First Lego League Robotic teams compete at qualifiers and at state.  

The teams compete against other teams with their robot, project and Core Values.  Churchill has won trophies at qualifiers and state levels.  On Saturday, Dec. 19, four Churchill First Lego League teams competed against a total of 32 teams.  

The teams five month commitment paid off because all four teams performed phenomenally, and two will compete at the the Northern Championship Tournament tournament Saturday, Jan. 16. Plank Junior High's Nuts and Volts will also compete at the tournament.

Team 3235 Techno Storm (Julia Johnson, Aurora Jackson, Angelina Palermo, Julius Max, Andrew Koutsohianis, Hunter Hrounda, Elijah Beeler, Riley Straub and Samatha Deaner)  took home a Trophy  for Core Values.  Core Values is showing gracious professionalism, teamwork, time management, coopertition, problem solving and other soft skill. Not only did Techno Storm take home a trophy, they also earned a bid for the State Competition. 

Team 3234 Trash Twistaz (Jordanne Nichols, Joseph Pratzer, Chloe Bucher, Bryant Eby, Jacob Eady, Luke Austin, Melanie Metzger, John Kersh, and Margo Scheerenberger) finished  in the top 4 overall and earned a bid for the State Competition.  

Team 3232 Techno Wizards (Meghan Hartigan, Kyla Hartigan, Kenzie Gatz, Ian Hofman, Nathan Keys, Katelyn Jones, Robert Schmidt, Aiden Marin and Avery Dahm ) finished  6th place on the Tables out of 16 teams. Way to go Techno Wizards!

Team 3233 Bot Brainz (Jack Hadsall, Logan Donnelly, Avery Mcknown-Robbie, Jessica Jaeckel, Peyton Bliss, Kyran Siddiqui, Jacob Jones, Kush Patel, Emi Rausa and Anna Green) also finished 6th place on the Tables out of 16 teams.  Way to go Bot Brainz!

Donna Bornemann, a teacher, has mentored and coached the teams for the past three years. This year she had nine phenomenal volunteer coaches: Jeff Beeler, Margie Hartigan, Rachel Keys, Susan Hofman, Jacque Bucher, Jamil Nichols, Stephen Deane, Kimberly Beeler, Flora Benz, and Georgi Hadsall. The teams are sponsored by Chris Jackson, Chief Financial Officer(CFO) at AHEAD.

Submitted by Churchill First Lego League Robotics