Skip to main content

Only Oswego

SNAPSHOT: Oswego Students Entering Prestigious Military Service Academies

Jun 24, 2015 10:48AM ● By Steven Jack

Mitchell Fornek (Oswego – United States Naval Academy at Annapolis), Alex Vandenberg (Sugar Grove – Naval Academy), Adam Harris (McHenry – Naval Academy), Congressman Hultgren, Ryan Wieties (Batavia – United States Military Academy at West Point), Kirby Einck (Geneva – West Point), Michael Krauss (Yorkville – Merchant Marines Academy at Kings Point). Not Pictured: Trevor Jones (Oswego – West Point), Eugene Kim (Hawthorn Woods – United States Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs), Dylan Magness (Huntley – Air Force Academy), Nicholas Remke (Marengo – Coast Guard Academy at New London), Drew Wiss (Elgin – Air Force Academy), Joshua Bell (Antioch – West Point).

U.S. Rep. Randy Hultgren (IL-14) congratulates the 12 students from Illinois’ 14th Congressional District that were selected to attend the United States military service academies.

The congressman hosted the selected students at a formal reception at the Campton Hills District Office on Friday. Factors such as academic achievements, strong character, leadership skills, physical aptitude, and exceptional motivation are taken into consideration for service academy selection.

Two Oswego students — Mitchell Fornek (U.S. Naval Academy) and Trevor Jones (West Point) — will enter the service academies this fall. 

“Each of these 12 students represents the strong moral and academic character of the 14th District,” Rep. Hultgren said. “I am impressed by each of their stories and am proud to have nominated these ambitious individuals to serve our nation and be educated at such exceptional institutions.”