Skip to main content

Only Oswego

Two Enter Oswego Trustee Race

Aug 14, 2014 04:11PM ● By Steven Jack

Karin McCarthy Lange and Ryan Kauffman

Two Oswego residents have entered the race for Village Trustee.

Karin McCarthy-Lange was the latest to throw her hat in the ring with her official announcement Thursday. Former trustee candidate Ryan Kauffman announced his second bid for election on his Facebook page last week. 

Lange is a graduate of Illinois State University and member of the Oswego Chamber of Commerce and the Village of Oswego Cultural Arts Commission. 

Kauffman obtained his MBA from North Central College in Naperville, and is a senior accountant with Northern Trust Corp. in Naperville. He was appointed to the Oswego Police Commission in June.

This is McCarthy-Lange’s first run for public office. She said she will make economic development the focus of her campaign.

“Bringing in more commercial business, light industry and retail will create a more balanced tax revenue stream that currently relies too heavily on homeowners,” McCarthy-Lange said. “Such development will also increase the chances of residents spending their money locally, as opposed to shopping in neighboring towns,”

Kauffman previously ran for village trustee in 2013. He lost to incumbents Judy Sollinger, Scott Volpe and board newcomer Pam Parr. 

“If we create an environment friendly to businesses we can encourage them to locate here which will expand the tax base and lower taxes for homeowners," Kauffman said. "Kendall County has some of the highest taxes in the country, and there is not much we can do about the county taxes, but there are things we can do to lower Oswego's taxes."

The next municipal election is April 7, 2015. The seats of Trustees Tony Giles, Terry Michels and Gail Johnson are up for election. Giles and Johnson have both announced their intentions to run for the village president seat being vacated by Brian LeClercq. Michels has made no public announcements regarding his re-election plans.

RELATED: LeClercq Won't Seek Another Term as Village President