Skip to main content

Only Oswego

Baird Named Police Chief of the Year

Jun 26, 2014 08:51PM ● By Steven Jack

Chief Baird being honored at the special event, “Salute to Those Who Make A Difference,” held by the Illinois State Crime Commission this month.

Oswego Police Chief Dwight A. Baird has been named 2014 Police Chief of the Year by the Illinois State Crime Commission.  

Baird received this honor for his achievements and service to many professional and civic organizations.

The Illinois State Crime Commission is the largest organization committed to combating public corruption and strengthening the Illinois criminal justice system in this state. The membership and board of directors comprise many of the state’s most influential leaders in government, law enforcement, education, labor, business and in public policy.

“On behalf of the Village Board, I would like to congratulate Chief Baird for this most prestigious award.  This is a true testament of the commitment and levels of service that Chief Baird and the entire Oswego Police Department demonstrates daily. The Village of Oswego is privileged to have Chief Baird as a member of our team for his leadership, professionalism and accomplishments,” said Village President Brian LeClercq.

News release provided by the village of Oswego.