Skip to main content

Only Oswego

OEHS Students Nominated for Democracy in Action Awards

Apr 10, 2014 07:05AM ● By Steven Jack

Ernesto Alvarez and Madeline Alvendia

Two students from Oswego East High School were recently nominated for the Union League Club of Chicago’s Democracy in Action Award 2014. They are Ernesto Alvarez and Madeline Alvendia. 

This award recognizes a high school junior or senior who has demonstrated exemplary citizenship and leadership in their community, and whose actions reflect an understanding of and commitment to the principles of democracy and have advanced civic involvement by young people.

The Union League wrote “We were very impressed by your nominee’s achievements and commitment to the ideals symbolized by the Democracy in Action Award.” 

Both Ernesto and Madeline received certificates recognizing their nomination. Ernesto is a senior and was nominated by Tammy Lilly and Amy Howerton. Madeline is a junior and was nominated by Anna Hog and Karla Hoinkes. 

The Union League Club of Chicago was established in 1879 to uphold the sacred obligations of citizenship, promote honesty and efficiency in government, and support cultural institutions and the beautification of the city. The Club has been a contributing partner in the growth and development of Chicago. Through the efforts of its dynamic membership, the Club has been a catalyst for action in nonpartisan political, economic and social arenas – focusing its leadership and resources on important social issues. Listed among its honorary members are Sandra Day O’Connor, Elizabeth Dole, and George H.W. Bush. 

Provided by District 308.